2013 ORATORICAL CONTEST WINNERS



1st Place Winner *JOEI ROBERTSON*\$5,000– and Laptop

Calvary Baptist Church

Dr. France A. Davis, Pastor

Colorado State University

Freshman

Major: Animal Science

Intermountain General Baptist Convention, Inc of Utah



2ndPlace Winner RONDELL MURRAY

\$1,500- and Laptop

Second Canaan MBC

Pastor, Vacant

Central Michigan University—Freshman

Major: Accounting

Michigan State Convention

3rd Place Winner JOEL G. MOORE, JR.

\$1,000-and Laptop

New Bethel Baptist Church -Germantown

Rev. Donald Ester, Pastor

Christian Brothers University—Freshman Major: Political Science

Tennessee Baptist Missionary & Educational Convention, Inc.



INFORMATION

- Each state is encouraged to submit one scholarship and one oratorical contestant application
- 2014 Oratorical Theme: "Solidarity With The Savior Through Worship" John 4:23-24
- 2014 Scholarship Application on the NBC web site (www.Nationalbaptist.com) may also find all the necessary information pertinent to the Oratorical Contest.
- Questions may be directed to:
 Scholarship Coordinator: Mrs. Pansy R. King—
 congressscholarship@gmail.com 973-673-6384

 Oratorical Contest Coordinator: Ms. Rosalyn Harvey —
 nbcoratorical@gmail.com





National Baptist Congress of
Christian Education
National
Scholarship Commission
Oratorical Commission
Report 2013

National Baptist Convention, USA, Inc.



Dr. George W. Waddles, Sr.

Dr. Julius R. Scruggs, Convention President Dr. Calvin McKinney, General Secretary Dr. George W. Waddles, Sr., Congress President Dr. Doretha Johnson, Congress Secretary Mrs. Pansy R. King, Scholarship Coordinator Ms. Roslyn Harvey Oratorical Coordinator



National Scholarship Commission Mrs. Pansy R. King- NJ—Coordinator— 973-673-6384 E-Mail: or nationalscholarship@gmail.com

Members

Rev. Robert A. Cain—II. Dr. Janet Taylor-MD Rev. Sam Roberson, Sr. —NEV

Dr Foster Woodrick - AL Dr. John F. Williams-GA Mrs. Ruby Yarbrough—MS

Midwest Region

TYKESHA BAKER

\$5,000

Zion Hill Baptist Church-Chicago, II

Rev. Dr. George Waddles, Sr., **Pastor**

St. Xavier—Freshman

Major: Science & Chemistry

Baptist General State Conven-

tion of IL Inc

Congress President, Dr. L.D. Tate





Northeast Region CHANELLE GREEN \$5,000

Shiloh Baptist Church-Landover, MD Rev. Be Louis Colleton, Pastor St. Joseph's University—Junior Major: Sociology

National Capital Baptist Convention-DC

Congress President Rev. Dr. Welton Fields, Jr.

Southeast Region DEMETRIUS JONES

\$5,000

St. Paul Missionary Baptist Church, Lake City, FL

Rev. Alvin Greene, Pastor

Santa Fe College—Freshman

Major: Biology'

Florida General Baptist Convention, Inc.

Congress President, Rev. Dr. Jimmie L. Bryant





Southwest Region HOUSTON D. ANDERSON V \$5,000

Bethel Missionary Baptist Church-Pratt City, AL Dr. T.L. Lewis, Pastor Tennessee State University Freshman

Major: Engineering or Architec-

ture—-

Alabama State Convention Congress President, Dr. Foster Woodrick



MICHAEL N. WALKER III

\$5,000

First Missionary Baptist Church- Enid, OK

Dr. Alfred Baldwin, Jr., Pastor

Bacone University-Fresh-

man

Major: Marketing & Business

Oklahoma Baptist State Convention

Congress President, Rev. Donald E. Dumas



Dr. Julius R. Scruggs Scholarship

BRITTNEY CARTER \$5,000

Zion Baptist Church-Omaha, NE

Rev. Kenneth Allen, Pastor

University of Nebraska— Freshman

Major: Theatre Arts, French

New Era Baptist State Convention-Nebraska

Congress President: Dr. Leroy Adams

